Imperial Rebel Ork – Jewel of July Challenge

Having failed miserably to meet the challenges for May and June I thought I ought to get my finger out for July.  The challenge was to produce a centre piece, never particularly easy for someone who tends to concentrate on vignettes and dioramas.  Fortunately I remembered that I bought a bust (not any old bust but an Ork bust) at the Torquay model show a few weeks ago.  It seemed like now was the ideal time to get it done.

I have never painted a bust before, partly because they never really appealed to me but mainly because of the scale.  I knew it would offer a whole new painting experience and I wasn’t sure if I was up for that.  I don’t claim to be an expert but moving up and down the scales requires different techniques.  What you can get away with at one scale you cannot get away with on another and the large scale associated with a bust is pretty unforgiving.  Still, as I had bought the bloody thing I reckoned I might as well do it.

So here you have my first attempt (and probably my last too) of painting a bust.  Some photo’s, including a few work in progress ones appear below.  For scale I have also include an image of the bust along side Lord Flash.

On this occasion I used no oil paints.  As if painting the bust wasn’t challenge enough I decided to only use acrylics this time.

If only I could have come up with a better name for the model though!

TIM

 

20190613_21045320190614_16034520190614_174351DSC_0240DSC_0244DSC_0241DSC_0243DSC_024520190627_090615

 

 

 

 

23 thoughts on “Imperial Rebel Ork – Jewel of July Challenge

  1. Nice one – it looks disconcertingly like him too! 😄
    Yeah, painting busts has never been terribly appealing to me either, it’s a whole other set of skills that I’ve never really been interested in developing. Maybe some day I’ll spread my wings a little though – you’ve certainly done a great job here.

    Liked by 6 people

  2. Haha I bloody love the name its just like looking in the mirror! You’ve done really well for your first/last attempt at a bust mate. I really like the highlights on the skin. I’m going to send the link to this to Big Waz

    Liked by 5 people

      1. Believe me, the eye infection is real! I don’t want to paint anything and post the pictures at the moment because of the comments I’d get saying how my painting seems to have got better all of a sudden! C’est la vie! 😉

        Liked by 3 people

  3. Brilliant painting mate so good I can see why IRO is excited ! and I bet you have Orkled a few bust in your time Dave ,Oh fuck there he goes again says Dave , for crying out loud some one put the old fart to bed !!!

    Liked by 3 people

  4. It looks excellent. I think your paint work has scaled up well and then some. I can’t say I get the point of busts (at least not from a fantasy/sci-fi point of view) but perhaps that’s because all my models are geared towards playing games

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment